26 Jun 2019

New members appointed to Scottish Ambulance Service Board

The Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport Jeane Freeman has today announced the appointments of Carol Sinclair and Cllr Stuart Currie as members of the Scottish Ambulance Service Board.

Carol Sinclair and Cllr Stuart Currie are appointed full board members – they replace departing board members Eddie Frizzell and Neelam Bakshi, who step down today after eight years of service.

SAS Chair Tom Steele welcomed the new appointees and paid tribute to the members who were leaving.

“We are extremely grateful for the dedication both Eddie and Neelam brought to the Scottish Ambulance Service Board – their work has been invaluable in helping us to reshape the service to ensure we continue to meet the needs of patients across Scotland,” he added.

“I would like to welcome Carol Sinclair and Cllr Currie to their new roles – we look forward to utilising their knowledge and experience to help us develop our services as we move towards the future.”

Carol Sinclair will bring skills to the role that have been developed in over 20 years’ service working in the NHS in Scotland. Her early career as a healthcare scientist was followed by a variety of positions in primary and community care – she is currently a senior leader within a large national health body and these experiences allow her to bring a diverse and comprehensive understanding of health and care in Scotland.

Cllr Currie has spent over 12 years in local government as an elected councillor in East Lothian serving in a variety of roles with responsibility for housing, community safety and, until recently, as a member of the East Lothian Health and Social Care Partnership’s Integrated Joint Board. This experience brings a wide range of skills and knowledge of both local government and the public sector.

Tom Steele was also pleased to welcome the appointment of Irene Oldfather as Vice-Chair of the Board and the appointment of Julie Carter as Finance Director.


Contact Information

Edward Earl